How to cope with somebody in your family with memory loss.

If you read my blogs then you would know that in my opinion my grandparents brought me up because of this it is difficult for me to watches her memory gets worse and worse. It is heart braking knowing that her memory is so bad. When watching her I am happy with the way she copes with it. She has always been a happy persons who is able to turn bad things into positive things. i like to think I have got that from her. She is such an incredible person.

The reason she is the way she is is not because of Alzheimers although that is something that is probably on its way. She had a pain killer which was supposed to help with her lungs but unfortunately the side effects effected her in the worst way in my opinion.

Being so close to her and spending so much time with her I have learnt some things to help with looking after he and helping her out.

Let the person do things them selves. When they want to make you something like a cup of tea or get you something. Let them do it. Don’t offer to make it for them or do it for them. Let them feel like they are helping out. Losing your memory is like losing yourself and that is not a good feeling at all. They need to feel wanted and needed.

Make sure they know you are there for them. Visit them as much as possible. Make them feel wanted. Make sure they know that there family is there for them. It is not something, it should not be something that you have to do. It is something that you should want to do. Just think about how you would want to be treated if you where in that position.

Never ever get angry at them. You always need to remember that no matter how they have been able to get the way they are it is not their fault. I know it is upsetting and aggravating but I have never got angry and I am so proud of myself for not. You just need to remember that it is not their fault and to keep calm.

When thinking of writing this blog I was confused on how to explain, I thought of words like, dealing and coping and I just couldn’t find the right word. You don’t cope with a family member the same as not all family members are blood related. You don’t deal with them. You spend time and you look after. Everybody needs family.

Leave a Reply

